Posted by: samschulman | March 1, 2009

#45

21balloons

Responses

  1. I first read 21 Balloons in the fifth grade. The book, even by my third read, is still one of the most creative and innovative pieces I have read. Though silly and obviously not geared towards an eighteen-year old, I am still intrigued by the mysterious island in which the book takes place and all of the characters and objects hidden within. I have always considered this as one of my favorite books simply because it had an impact on me at such a young age and has stuck with me since. Sophomore year of high school I did an art project based on 21 Balloons (the second time I read it). I choose three of my favorite scenes and depicted them by drawing them on three pieces of plexi glass and hanging them from the ceiling with light shining through each of the pieces from the back.


Leave a Reply

Categories

